Food

Mini Calzones (& to Freeze)

Yes… Yes… I’m addicted to Italian Food.

Pizza & pastas! Yes, please! All day, everyday!

Also, I’m always searching for ways to have some awesome meals ready to go, for those days that I don’t want to cook, or that is too late for making something from scratch.

This past Sunday, I was looking into my fridge and there were lots of little things, some from the week before, other were leftovers from hubby’s Bday Party. So, what to make? Pizza! But because was still hubby’s weekend, I chose to make calzones.

IMG_7639

Why? Because he loves to eat the big and thick cord that it’s a given in a calzone. The batch I made of pizza dough was enough to make 8 calzones and the plan was 4 to eat right away, the other 4 was going on the freezer for another time, busy night!

The ingredients I had on the fridge were:

  • Passata
  • Too soft for salad tomatoes
  • Olives
  • Smoke pork loin
  • Onions
  • Fresh mushrooms
  • Cheese

I decide to caramelized the mushrooms and the onions.

For the dough, here is my go to dough (I always make this one)

IMG_7630

Ingredients:

  • 500grs of flour
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 250ml of warm water
  • 1 pack of instant dry yeast (this ones is special for bread machines)

Method:

I use a bread machine, i start with the wet ingredients and then I add the dry ingredients. Select the dough/rise cycle, normally is 1h30m.

But you can use a stand machine, or even do it by hand. Knead the dough well and then cover it and put in a warm place to rise. It’s done when at least doubles the initial size.

Now for the mini calzones… Divide the dough in 8 balls. Roll them out to a thin circle. Start with the passata (tomato sauce), then the cheese and put all the fillings that you want/have in hand. Go crazy… It can be leftover chicken, or mince meat, any cold meats you have at hand.

For the ones that you are going to bake right away, put them in a pre-heated oven at 200C/400F, for about 30min.

IMG_7638

It all depends on your oven and the size that your calzones are, because you can make the number that you want, you even can make 1 single calzone, if you are having a big party.

The other you put in the freeze, for another day.

From experience, I remove the freeze ones in the morning before I left for work and when I bake them at night, the dough turned out too crispy. So the next time I’m putting them in the fridge, because maybe my kitchen was too hot during the day. Also another experience would be putting them in the oven straight from the freezer. What you think? How yours turned out?

If you have any questions or suggestions, let me know.

Kiss&Hugs

JustCombined Girl

2 thoughts on “Mini Calzones (& to Freeze)

Leave a Reply

