Food

The Great Iggle Bake Off – Week 2

wp-1486156812831.jpeg

Another week is ending on this awesome adventure that Kara and I created over IGGPPC . Super excited to be sharing the new dish, recipe that I make for this week.

And this theme week was?

img_20170216_122255.jpg

Can I say? This is one of my favorites! I love to bake cakes, starting with the preparation of the ingredients, eating the dough from the bowl, lick the spoon in the end and the smell that is left through the house! I’m salivating already…

I had a lot, and still have, oranges, some my father brought me from his trees, others were a gift from a friend. I thought I have to make something with them (and still need more recipes, any suggestions?) I decided to bake an orange cake.

Another confession? It annoys me when I have to beat the egg whites! LOL Moving on…

I don’t bake a lot of orange cakes, so I search, on Pinterest of course, for some appealing photos of orange cakes. The result? Amazing! Super soft, fluffy and it still remain the same thing after a couple of days. Wich is good, it means the recipe is perfect and that I did a good job baking it. Hubby loved it, shock? Right? I still have to find something that I make that he doesn’t like… Wait, I know! He doesn’t like liver and I love it, with mashed potatoes and a good onion gravy! Salivating again! LOL *Homer Simpson moment*

Moving on! The cake!

2017-02-16-12.21.25.png.png

I think orange cakes, and lemon cakes, have always an amazing color. While I was baking I thought it would be awesome to make some orange curd, but then the eggs weren’t enough for it. But the cake doesn’t need anything else, it’s perfect just like that. Simple and yummy! Awesome with a cup of coffee/tea or a glass of cold milk! But next time I would defenitely put some orange curd on top, giving it another layer of flavour and texture.

The recipe is from Ruchis Kitchen, here it is:

“DRY INGREDIENTS
  • 1.5 cup Cake flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
WET INGREDIENTS
  • 3 large Eggs
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoon Sugar
  • 1.5 – 2 tablespoon Fresh orange zest (*see notes above)
  • 2 tablespoon Fresh orange juice
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla essence
  • 3/4 cup Soften butter
METHOD
  1. Assemble dry ingredients. Preheat oven @ 350 degree F.
  2. Sift all the dry ingredients together. Set it aside.
  3. Assemble wet ingredients.
  4. Eggs.
  5. Vanilla essence and milk.
  6. For orange zest- Rub the orange along the side of the grater. Rub it slowly and carefully so that you do not scrape your fingers.
  7. Cut a orange in half and squeeze out its juice. Set it aside.
  8. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Creaming incorporates air into this mixture.
  9. Add eggs one by one.
  10. Beat until fluffy.
  11. Pour in milk and vanilla essence. Add dry ingredients and beat until well blended.
  12. Fold in orange zest and orange juice. Mix it well and scrape down the sides of the bowl.
  13. Grease a baking pan.
  14. Pour batter into the greased pan. Smooth the surface and gently tap the bowl on the counter couple of times to release all the trapped air.
  15. Bake for 40 -45 minutes.
  16. Insert a toothpick into the center and if it comes out clean, cake is done.
  17. Allow it to cool for 15-20 minutes before inverting onto a wire rack.

I hope you try this recipe, because it really is awesome, easy and simple.

And with this I’m ready for next week challenge.

If you have any questions or suggestions, let me know!

Kiss&Hugs

JustCombined Girl

Leave a Reply

