Food

The Great Iggle Bake Off & Week 1

Note: I’m catching up on everything, be ready, it will be lots of blog posts upload in the future.

wp-1486156812831.jpeg

I created The Great Iggle Bake Off with Kara, over IGGPPC . Because there was so much fans of this show, besides also the fact that we love to cook/bake and specially eat! I’m the brains and design, she is the creativity of it, and for me that is a big job, yes, I’m a total mess to make fun and appealing writing, shock, right? LOL

This will be during 4 weeks, (or more? should we make this a thing?) Each week we present a theme for the challenge.

First week was bread!

wp-1486156922741.jpeg

How my first week was? Lets find out!

I got really sick over the weekend, and because of it I was at home, but I hate be in bed all day, so I thought it would be fun to make the bread, since I was home with nothing to do. My energy was so low, that I decided to use my bread machine to help me, at least with the kneading part. Can I just confess? I “sometimes” don’t enjoy the knead part of the baking bread! It’s boring! LOL! But I do enjoy the part of preparing the before and after! That is why I ask to the angels everyday for a stand mixer, because a stand mixer makes things so much easier and fun, starting with the kneading, making frosting, silky batches of cake dough, cookies! Because I didn’t knead the bread myself, I thought of making something fun with the dough. I decided to braided the dough, but that didn’t went that well, because the dough during the baking end up flaten a bit, live and learn, next time I should put it on a rectangular pan. But besides form that everything went well, the bread end up super soft with a nice crust and it last at least 5 days with any problems. By the end, I had to heat it up a bit, but who doesn’t love warm toasty bread with butter and jam?

Here is a mosaic of my steps:

img_20170212_164116_440.jpg

Can you see how big and good the braied is? It really needed something to stop from flatten it, also it would help it raise up, instead of to the sides. I’m defenitely going to try this again, because hubby loves this bread.

The recipe I use is from Happy Kitchen Rocks.

“Ingredients:

  • 150 grams or 5.2 oz butter + more for greasing the pan
  • 3 eggs + 1 egg yolk for brushing the loaf
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 125 ml milk +1 tablespoon for brushing the loaf
  • 25 grams or 0.9 oz fresh yeast or 2 1/2 teaspoon dry yeast (I used dry yeast)
  • 500 grams all purpose flour + more for working

Method:

  1. DOUGH: In a big bowl, melt butter in a microwave and mix it with eggs, sugar and salt. Warm the milk in a separate bowl and dissolve the yeast in it. Mix it all together and add flour, kneading until the dough is elastic and smooth.
  2. RISING: Leave the dough to rest for at least 40 minutes, covered with a kitchen towel, until it doubles in size. Prepare the nonstick 11 by 25 cm (5 by 10 inch) bread pan or loaf form. Grease it with butter and sift a bit of flour on it. When the dough has doubled in size, divide it into 10 balls. They should be approximately the size of a tennis ball or smaller. Place them into the bread form in one layer, side by side, pressing a bit, so that they all fit in the form. Leave them for 20 minutes to rise, covered with a kitchen towel.
  3. BAKING: Preheat the convention oven to 160 °C (320 °F) or a regular oven to 190 °C (370 °F). For the nice crust, brush your French brioche with a mixture of milk and egg yolk before baking. Bake for about 40 minutes in the middle section of a convention oven, until it’s golden brown. Enjoy!”

As I said this is defenitely a recipe to bake again!

Do you like to bake bread? What did you bake?

If you have any questions or suggesttions, let me know.

Kiss&Hugs

JustCombined Girl

 

Leave a Reply

