Gardening

Plant Ginger at Home

A couple of months ago I bought a small piece of ginger to plant! I was waiting for it to sprout before I wrote the post talking about it.

I didn’t want to post something that didn’t happen to me, even I had research it and it was working with a lot of people!

It’s a simple process, so if you like ginger is worth a try!

I didn’t buy a pot for this, I just recycled a water plastic carboy of 5l!

As you can see, you need a craft knife and the plastic carboy. Carefully cut the top!

img_7392

Next, you need water, universal soil and a good piece of ginger.

It’s important that your piece of ginger is fresh, new and have this little bumps. This bumps are a good thing, it means that the ginger will sprout and will grow!

Fill half of the “pot” with the soil, add a little water so the soil is humid, then place your ginger!

Mine was big for the “pot” so I just cut it a little bit!

img_7404

Next and final steps are fill the “pot” with more soil and put a little more water!

When I did this, was still warm outside. But as soon as the nights starting to be colder, I move the “pot” inside. It’s now in the same spot as my orchid plant!

What you need to do is put small amounts of water every time you see that the soil is dry on the top! Do not put too much water. Ginger likes the humidity, not being drawn in water! 😉

And that is it! Do not fill sad, if you don’t see any changes. Just let it be, warm place and little water each time! For me it was almost 2 months!

This is what I found a few days ago…

20161102_071728

Because it’s so close to the edge, I think I’m going to have to transplant sooner that I thought! I’ll see how it goes, and let you know.

If you have any questions, or suggestions, let me know!

Kiss&Hugs

JustCombined Girl

Leave a Reply

